2011 Just Walked By

It’s Saturday night, the streets are deserted,

Except a few passersby, eyes averted,

Merging into the darkness surrounding,

I walk accompanied by shadows abounding,

Sinister shapes of trees swaying this way and that,

Something flies overhead not a bird, but a bat,

It’s hard to believe it’s 6.30pm that’s all,

Consumer society probably flocked in the mall.

Not much to see, my chest moves in and out,

I awake from my reverie, I hear someone shout,

Happy New Year, she bellows to me,

On the way to Tel Aviv to a party,

Her excitement is infectious and I reassess the street,

It’s crowded with resolutions waiting for 2012 to greet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

