The Marathon Runners

Half an hour into my walk and I am feeling rather fit,

Okay it’s not totally easy going, I am huffing a bit,

I stand up tall as I sally along, chuffed that I’m looking good,

Maybe I’ll walk another kilometer, why not I really could,

I turn a corner and espy the road, no cars or traffic today,

A policeman waves in my direction and orders me to make way,

For what I find out very soon, as runners pour down the road,

Some running fast, some speeding up and others as if slowed,

It’s the fifteen K fun run I remember, as I walk along by their side,

A photographer flung on the road to capture them in full stride,

I am no longer feeling so perky, not looking so damn cool,

As a bunch of them pass me by, an athletic flock, well not all,

One lad has turned his run into a walk of protracted pace,

Looking green, his legs a wobble, possibly stopping his race,

I cheer him on silently, willing him to the end line, in view, so near,

My feet happy just to plod, of marathons they need not fear.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Marathon Runners

  1. debs says:

    dalseeeeeeeeeeeeee love it love it you are wasted in the wrld of chemistry and law xxx

Leave a Reply

