The Christmas Tree

Christmas has been and gone, at least three weeks ago,

But in a certain street in Tel Aviv you may not think so,

Outside a shop, which sold this and that, a strange array of things,

Were chocolate Santa Claus piled up high and angels with wings,

The chocolate was on special, ten shekels and it was yours,

Made in Vienna, superior quality, my salivating made me pause,

And while I checked out this cocoa delight my eyes feasted on a fir,

Behind the window was a Christmas tree, and a thought began to stir,

Who would buy such a shrub of plastic seasonal appeal,

Whether in time for Noel or not, and despite it not being real,

It looked familiar this brand before me, where had I seen it before,

Through a window of one of my neighbours last Christmas I was sure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

