What’s Cooking?

My best time for a walk is probably Friday morning,

The weekend begun, at 9am the day is still yawning,

The uniqueness of Friday is that everybody’s cooking,

I can tell what is being made without even looking,

Chicken soup smells fill the streets coming from every home,

I can’t escape the aroma, in whichever direction I roam,

I notice that each soup is derived from a different recipe,

One has barely any spices, whilst another is much too peppery,

A whiff of traditional consommé from a flat over there,

I am sure I can smell turkey soup, but I’m not sure from where,

The slight changes in ingredients arranged like musical notes of varying peal,

Each family unique stirred into their food in anticipation of the Shabbat meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Cooking?

  1. Beattie Gellert says:

    How did you know I was cooking chicken soup this morning. I did not think the smell could travel from Netanya. No 1 Fan

Leave a Reply

