Can’t Stop For A Chat

Tick tock, tick tock, when I walk I must keep moving,

Tick tock, tick tock, can’t slow down my time’s improving,

So don’t get narked if I ignore you, I have no time to kill,

And I avoid giving directions if it means I have to stand still,

So when I’m off to the unemployment office on each Thursday,

I’ve had to arrange for no obstacles to delay me in any way,

I figure a pause of less than a minute is okay considering the stairs I climb,

And so there is minimal interruption to my cumulative exercise time,

So you can imagine how I felt this week when I arrived there,

I had done the necessary biometric signing when this official did dare,

To ask me how it was going, declaring that she had a course for me,

On how to find work, it was daily, I just had to see,

A woman in an office who would explain it all and more,

But was this lady an idiot, finding a job was not what I came for,

Did she not see she was ruining my time, I could not afford the delay,

Tick tock, tick tock I wasn’t here to dawdle, I hadn’t come to stay,

So I waffled on quickly about how the course was nice and all very good,

But it wasn’t suitable for the likes of me, I’d think about it I would,

And as she paused and then opened her mouth to continue the conversation,

I had already whipped out of there showing determination,

To make up speed and ensure my body’s dynamics continued on track,

And weighing up whether it was worth the risk next week to come back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t Stop For A Chat

  1. Beattie Gellert says:

    I am still laughing – Mum

  2. David Wolf says:

    Hi Dalia
    Do you remember, from your schooldays, William Wordsworth’s poem, Ode to a Daffodill ?
    “What is this life, if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare……………” ???????

    All oue love to David and the children – and YOU of course.

Leave a Reply

