The End Of The Rainbow

I have never seen a full rainbow, not ever except in a picture book,

I can only imagine from the bits of rainbows that I have seen how it would look,

But the other day the rain had stopped a glimmer of sun poking out,

When my son came crashing in, uncomprehendable in his excitement about,

A double rainbow which had replaced part of the sky high above his head,

If I wasn’t quick I would miss this vision of the spectrum of blue and red,

I extricated myself from my lethargy and a short walk away I reached the spot,

Would I be able to see it, not the rainbow but the associated gold in a pot,

In one direction the rainbow scooped up from the bottom of the sky right there,

And I followed it’s full arc of colour ascending and then descending to where,

My eye could no longer see any more sky which it could steal and replace,

And I had no idea which was the start and which was the end of this rainbow space,

As I stood in my contemplation weighing up in which direction the gold would be found,

I looked up to find the rainbow had disappeared without so much as a farewell sound,

I returned home realizing that even if I had determined where the rainbows end did lie,

To be rich the pot of gold would have to be tangible and not made up of part of the sky.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

