Synagogue Fashion

I took my seat in the first pew high above the ground,

Trying not to bring attention, didn’t make a sound,

Nothing to look at except right down below,

At a plethora of male heads, attached to each fellow,

What a boring sight forced upon my eyes,

Of baldness or short cropped hair covered, in disguise,

With skull caps not differing one from another,

Probably chosen or bought by a wife or a mother,

The men’s choir singing, their black kipput in my face,

Like a flock of crows, melodic without much grace,

I searched hard for something to catch my sight,

But blackness was all I could see from my elevated height,

When I noticed a flashing of bright purple or was it pink,

It looked like it was sparkling, I didn’t know what to think,

Could it be what I thought it was, I dared to hope,

A bold fashion statement of one courageous bloke,

If allowed I would have taken my hat off to this brave brute,

And I prayed the rest of his gender would quickly follow suit,

Not to cause male confusion or possible macho defection,

But to adorn colourful skullcaps to brighten up the ladies section.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

