Yom Kippur 2012

I stood there swaying, relived there was not much longer to go,

Although I could not help wandering as the chanting was slow,

When I noticed a young boy of about twelve, no more,

Trying to park his bicycle by the synagogue front door,

He needed to know when the shofar would be,

And ran into the house of prayer so that he could see,

But soon he reappeared by his cycle with a look of worry,

He wanted me to watch his bike, but no I was sorry,

I was too busy beating my chest and straining my ear,

And praying for forgiveness and a good and happy new year,

But do you think someone will steal it, he then blurted out,

And the irony struck me, that this was what his Yom Kippur was about,

Was it a possibility after asking for forgiveness and intense fasting,

That somebody would now nick this bicycle, atonement so short lasting,

Or that this boy, kippa on his head, cycle in hand,

Was torn between the two on Yom Kippur in the Holy Land,

But perhaps it is a conflict which affects many of us, not just him,

Religious belief, modern life and for what to go out on a limb.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

