The Record Breaking Supermarket Shop

No need to go to the supermarket, just think,

No acrobatic stretching, or lifting a crate of drink,

Trolleys with wheels which do not work, never again,

No apologetically veering into customers, having to explain,

No waiting in a line of at least three or four trolleys full,

No loading and unloading of the cart, at the till and car at all,

How? All I needed to do was shop online on the internet,

It would also save me time, be cheaper, and I was set,

To beg on my hands and knees, whatever it took to be allowed,

To be a member of this most modern supermarket crowd,

I tapped away at my computer keys and I was nearly in,

So easy after working out registering with a valid PIN,

And before my eyes were grocery categories, I just had to click,

Whatever food or other item I wanted and decided to pick,

But because I had never been on the site before, I had to see,

Everything, that is all that was on offer, especially,

As I did not want to miss one little thing, no way,

And after all I was saving at least two hours of this day,

I saw thousands of items that were sold there,

That I usually whiz past, not worth a look or a stare,

But because I have never been on the site before, I needed to see,

Everything, that is all that was on offer, commercially,

And at last after two and a half hours I took a break,

I did not want to have forgotten something, make a mistake,

And I told my husband to add the meat that he desired buying,

I expertly gave him my username, password proudly sighing,

It’s just a pity that I had overlooked one little action…saving,

My precious list was gone, puff…I tried not to start raving,

But I was strong starting afresh, it would take me no time,

I was no longer a novice, and was still saving a dime,

And it was quicker only an hour and a half or so,

This go I saved the list like a true virtual shopping pro,

Before paying I was informed of the next delivery hour,

In four days time, impossible I mean how are,

We supposed to eat with no food in the house,

This virtual shop would only be eaten by the mouse,

And so after spending all day at the computer grocery store,

I had to get in the car and enter the real entrance door,

I needed to go to the bloody supermarket, just think,

More acrobatic stretching, and lifting crates of drink,

A trolley with wheels which did not work, again,

Apologetically veering into customers, having to explain,

Then waiting in a line of at least three or four trolleys full,

And loading and unloading of the cart, at the till and car at all,

But at least I did not lose my shop with a click before my eyes,

As I drove straight home with a hint of tears and real shopping buys.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

